Steph Cooke MP with Jaimee Damini, Principal of Binya Public School, which is one of the schools in the Cootamundra electorate opening its play spaces to the public during the school holidays.

Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke has named schools in the Cootamundra electorate which will be opening their grounds to the public over the spring holidays as part of the Share Our Space initiative.

Ms Cooke said that opening safe and purpose-built play areas for children which would otherwise be left unused was a fantastic initiative.

“Playing in the park with friends has to be one of the most memorable things any of us do as we are growing up, so opening public schools with their great facilities to the community during the holidays is a brilliant use of space,” Ms Cooke said.

“Parents know that finding safe, free and fun places for their kids to play during school holidays can sometimes be challenging.

“The Share Our Space program helps solve the age-old challenge of keeping the kids entertained in the holidays.

“There are 13 schools in the Cootamundra electorate which will be opening up their playgrounds, basketball courts, ovals and gardens to our communities.

“Share Our Space is a great opportunity for families, children and residents to stay active and enjoy of some of the fantastic playgrounds and spaces which would otherwise be standing empty.”

Schools which are due to be participating in the program include:

West Wyalong High School

Wyalong Public School

Naradhan Public School

E A Southee Public School

Cootamundra Public School

Wallendbeen Public School

Woodstock Public School

Wyangala Dam Public School

Jugiong Public School

Maimuru Public School

Monteagle Public School

Binya Public School

Marrar Public School

The Department of Education is carefully assessing schools to ensure those who participate are safe and secure.

To confirm participating schools, visit