Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke with Liesa Huggins, Zone Manager Murrumbidgee, NSW Ambulance and members of NSW Ambulance at the opening of Coolamon’s new ambulance station.

Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke officially opened the new Coolamon Ambulance Station today, joining the Coolamon community on a tour of the new facility.

Together with Coolamon Shire Council Mayor, John Seymour, and NSW Ambulance Zone Manager, Liesa Huggins, Ms Cooke celebrated the opening of the community’s first ambulance station.

Ms Cooke said that since the station’s commencement of operations, it has been pivotal in the provision of high-quality medical emergency care to the Coolamon region.

“Since commencing operations, this station has enabled our hard-working and highly clinically capable paramedics and qualified volunteer ambulance officers to render medical assistance to hundreds of patients living in the Coolamon region,” Ms Cooke said.

“The new station, located at 62 Devlin Road, is the first ambulance station in Coolamon, made possible with the generous land donation by the Coolamon Shire Council.”

The new Coolamon station includes:

  • administration facilities
  • office area and amenities
  • a logistics and storage area
  • internal parking bays for up to two ambulance vehicles
  • relief accommodation for NSW Ambulance staff
  • external covered vehicle wash bay/parking and
  • on site staff parking.

“The Rural Ambulance Infrastructure Reconfiguration (RAIR) program looks at the potential location of each new ambulance station to determine the optimal location for the most efficient response to local patients,” Ms Cooke said.

“We are so pleased to see that alongside the continuous growth of our regional towns, NSW Ambulance and Health Infrastructure NSW have supported our regional towns with the investment of new ambulance stations,” Ms Cooke said.

Mayor of Coolamon Shire Councillor John Seymour OAM expressed his thanks for the new station.

“We are grateful and appreciate the support we have received from all quarters in getting this Station built,” Mayor Seymour said.

The RAIR program includes 23 locations across NSW, which will benefit from an upgraded, rebuilt or entirely new NSW Ambulance station. Paramedics are now operating from new and upgraded stations delivered under the program at Ardlethan, Harden and Coolamon.

The NSW Government’s Budget announcement in June included a record investment in NSW Ambulance of more than $1 billion for 2018-19 and an unprecedented boost of 700 additional paramedics and 50 call centre staff over the next four years.