The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) has recognised the outstanding achievements and bravery of its volunteers and staff this St. Florian’s Day.

Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke MP paid tribute to the amazing dedication of the two NSW RFS Region West members who were honoured this year.

“I am proud that so many are committed to protecting lives and property, especially here in the Cootamundra electorate,” Ms Cooke said.

“Although they do their job never asking for praise, this is a great opportunity for the whole community to thank NSW RFS volunteers for their ongoing hard work and professionalism.

“These two men are an absolute credit to our region and a stellar example to the next generation of firefighters,” she added.

The local recipients are:

  • Senior Deputy Captain Samuel Tout – Murringo Brigade and South West Slopes Zone – Commissioner’s Commendation for Service (individual)
  • Inspector William Britt – Bland Temora Zone – Commissioner’s Certificate of Commendation (individual)

The annual award ceremony at NSW RFS Headquarters is in honour of the Patron Saint of Firefighters, St Florian.

Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant said it is important to reflect on the selfless dedication and bravery these men and women show every day, upholding the commitment to protecting lives and property.

“Today we stop to thank everyone involved in fighting fires across our communities especially the many men and women who are on call day after day and selflessly respond to all manner of emergencies,” Mr Grant said.

For further details about each recipient, please visit NSW RFS website