Minister for Corrections Anthony Roberts and Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke chat with staff member Lauren Murrell at the Junee Correctional Centre

National Corrections Day will be acknowledged in the Cootamundra Electorate today, celebrating the 10,000 correctional staff in NSW; and the 25,000 frontline officers across Australia who work tirelessly rehabilitating offenders and keeping our communities safe.

Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke MP said the day was a great opportunity to thank the region’s correctional staff, who play a vital role in keeping the community safe at Community Corrections offices and Junee Correctional Centre.

“Today we acknowledge the hardworking corrections officers in our region who strive to engage, educate and rehabilitate offenders for the benefit of the community,” Ms Cooke said.

“They should be commended for their bravery, dedication and commitment to their work, which largely goes unnoticed because it happens behind the walls of prisons or Community Corrections offices.”

Corrective Services NSW staff will mark the day by holding morning teas and barbecues to raise funds for chosen charities, including NSW Rural Fire Service, Australian Red Cross and the NSW Wildlife Information, Rescue and Education Service (WIRES).

Minister for Corrections Anthony Roberts said the We Are Family theme for this year’s National Corrections Day focuses on the camaraderie of CSNSW staff and their ability to work together to meet the challenges of the job.

“Our corrections staff should be applauded for their ability to band together and support one another to resolve often challenging and volatile situations,” Mr Roberts said.

“These brave men and women go about their work with the utmost professionalism, and deserve to be praised for their strong work ethic and commitment to reducing re offending.

“Please join me in thanking our Corrective Services family for the important work they do.”

CSNSW employs 10,000 staff across the state, including custodial officers, security and intelligence officers, industry overseers, inmate services and programs staff, psychologists and Community Corrections officers.