Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke today unveiled an artists’ impression of the new Cootamundra Ambulance Station ahead of a community information stand organised for Cootamundra this week.

“This is a significant milestone in the NSW Government’s commitment to build a new ambulance station at Cootamundra,” Ms Cooke said.

A community information stand will be held out the front of The Base shop on Parker Street in Cootamundra on Thursday June 27 from 12 noon until 6pm.

“This is a great opportunity to learn more about the project and everyone is encouraged to call in if they have questions,” she added.

“The Coota Ambulance station is one of seven upgrades or new builds across the electorate. In Ardlethan, Coolamon and Harden the new stations look absolutely incredible and most importantly, have improved the conditions for our hardworking paramedics and volunteers.

“Health Infrastructure, NSW Ambulance, the Murrumbidgee Local Health District along with the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council are all working together to deliver this vital piece of infrastructure for the Cootamundra district.”

The new station, to be co-located adjacent to the Cootamundra Hospital on Boundary Road will feature facilities that are a major improvement on the current 80-year-old station, enabling local NSW Ambulance paramedics to better meet the mobile emergency medical care needs of Cootamundra and surrounds well into the future.

Once completed, the Cootamundra NSW Ambulance station will include:

  • Internal parking for up to four emergency ambulance vehicles
  • Administration and office areas
  • Amenities
  • Logistics and storage areas
  • Relief accommodation
  • Staff parking
  • Delivery and loading bay
  • External wash bay

Next steps include design finalisation and planning approval for the new station.

Works are expected to begin on site by early 2020.

To date, 23 upgraded, rebuilt or new regional and rural ambulance stations have been announced under the $122 million Rural Ambulance Infrastructure Reconfiguration (RAIR) program, including completed stations at Wagga Wagga, Coolamon, Ardlethan, Harden, Molong, Griffith, Kiama, Berry, Bay & Basin, Toukley, Wauchope, Hamlyn Terrace and Bathurst.

This represents the biggest regional and rural transformation of NSW Ambulance infrastructure in the organisation’s history.