Volunteers from the NSW State Emergency Service (NSW SES) Cowra and Weddin Shire have been recognised for their diligent service to their community at an awards ceremony.

There were eight award recipients representing 130 years of community service to NSW SES Cowra, Gooloogong and Grenfell Units.

Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke was honoured to represent Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott to present the prestigious National Medals and Long Service Awards on Saturday, April 13.

“There is no question that the people of this Zone and this State know they can depend on the men and women in orange for help and protection during floods, storms and other emergencies,” Ms Cooke said.

“It makes me incredibly proud to see the depth of commitment in this room – well done to you all on your outstanding achievements and all your units on your community spirit and dedication.”

NSW SES Commissioner Kyle Stewart says it’s important to recognise the NSW SES volunteers’ outstanding contribution and longevity of service.

“These awards highlight not only these volunteers’ commitment to the NSW SES, but also their dedication in looking after their local communities,” Commissioner Stewart said.

“Their accumulated wisdom and experience are irreplaceable.”

He said the support of families and staff is also essential for the NSW SES to be the best volunteer emergency service agency in Australia.

“The presentation of these awards is a fitting acknowledgment of our volunteers’ dedication and professionalism,” he added.

“Team spirit, friendship and desire to serve the community are some of the great strengths of the NSW SES. It creates a positive environment encouraging them to stay with the NSW SES for many years.

“Our volunteers support resilient communities, building capability across their local areas and beyond.”