Seat of Small Communities Strengthened Following Boundary Redistribution

Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke has welcomed the final determination of
electoral boundaries, as announced by the NSW Electoral Commission today.

“I am so pleased the draft electoral boundary changes proposed by the electoral
commission in November 2020 has been finalised without change,” Ms Cooke said.

“This means the seat of Cootamundra will retain the local government areas of
Bland, Coolamon, Cowra, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Hilltops, Junee, Narrandera,
Temora and Weddin, whilst warmly welcoming the communities of Boorowa, Mount
Collins, Hovells Creek, Reids Flat, Godfreys Creek, Frogmore, Taylors Flat, Rugby
and Rye Park into the electorate.

“This redistribution means the entirety of the Hilltops Council local government area
is now within one state electorate.”

Ms Cooke said it fantastic the seat remains ‘intact’ as one of the more unique state
electorates, given it is not based around one major regional centre.

“The Cootamundra electorate is a network of tight-knit towns and villages which I
have strived to support as the local Member.

“I am proud to have worked very closely with individuals and families, small
businesses and community organisations across each of these local government
areas, and I have learnt a great deal about the region I call home in the process.

“I am relieved the boundary redistribution will be largely undisruptive to what we
have already achieved and the hard work still to come.”

The NSW Electoral Commission conducts a boundary redistribution after every
second New South Wales State election, to ensure the number of electors within
each electoral district remain equal.

The redistribution determination is made after an extensive consultation process
which involves input from stakeholders, including members of the public.

For more information, please visit