Member for Cootamundra Steph Cooke is encouraging the Cowra community to support local Dr Louise Baker, who has been named as one of the finalists of the 2019 NSW Woman of the Year Awards.

“I want to congratulate Louise for her amazing contributions to our community, and I urge everyone in Cootamundra electorate to take a look at her story online and show their support by submitting a vote,” Ms Cooke said.

“Louise is a worthy candidate for the Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Award and I am thrilled her achievements have been recognised.”

Dr Baker was selected for over 30 years of service as a GP, her work with the local Aboriginal community and her advocacy and leadership in attracting trainee doctors to country areas.

“I’d like to thank Steph Cooke for nominating me for an award that recognises the work of regional women in NSW,” Dr Baker said.

“I hope this opens people’s minds and helps spread the word about the great work which is, and can be done in the regions.”

Minister for Women Tanya Davies today announced young female entrepreneurs, humanitarian ambassadors and cancer researchers are among the 28 finalists who have been nominated for the Awards ahead of the inaugural NSW Women’s Week.

“The Awards celebrate the extraordinary contributions of NSW women, and by casting a vote individuals not only help to recognise the finalists’ outstanding achievements, but also highlight their stories to inspire other women,” Mrs Davies said.

“This year’s finalists are just a handful of the thousands of women who make a difference in our communities, and I urge everyone across NSW to show their support by viewing these remarkable stories online and submitting their vote.”

Finalists are listed in the following 2019 Awards categories, which are now open to the public for online voting:

  • Community Hero Award,
  • Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year Award,
  • Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year Award,
  • NSW Business Woman of the Year Award, and
  • First State Super Lifetime Achievement Award.

To submit your vote, or read more about the finalists, visit:

Voting closes on February 15, with winners to be announced at the 2019 NSW Women of the Year Awards at the International Convention Centre Sydney on March 7